A colleague in another school passed me this last night:
The concern, which I share, is that this company seems to be strongly implying they are affiliated with the now-defunct Laptops For Teachers government scheme that many here will be familiar with. The use of language such as "If you would like your school to be included in this round of funding" makes it sound like a grant, while offering to "buy back" makes it sound like they were the ones selling them in the first place.From: "David Petty" <...@laptopsforteachers.co.uk>
To: ...
Subject: LFT
Date: 25-Jan-2012 09:53:12 +0000
Hi
This is just a quick email to let you know that we are still
offering to buy back your old laptops or projectors for cash
or part exchange. If you would like your school to be
included in this round of funding from us then just reply to
this email and let me know.
If you would like anymore information then please do not
hesitate to contact me, you can also receive more
information from our website http://www.laptopsforteachers.co.uk
Please can you pass this on to your head teacher or ICT
department.
Kind regards
David Petty
Laptops For Teachers
Email ...@laptopsforteachers.co.uk
Their website does make it clear that they are a limited company, and they have a number of positive testimonials (anyone from here?). Still, the sales tactic in the above email seems pretty misleading.
What do you guys think?


LinkBack URL
About LinkBacks




