+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
General Chat Thread, Help please - previous occupant debt in General; Me and my SO recently brought our first house. We have been getting loads of letters for the previous occupant ...
    Thank Post

Help please - previous occupant debt

Me and my SO recently brought our first house. We have been getting loads of letters for the previous occupant and I assume her ex. I have been handing these into the estate agent as requested. But recently I've gotten sick of the amount of letters and opened them. They are all debt collectors!!! I immediately contacted the debt collectors to inform that they no longer lived here some simply removed the address the one today stated it was a recent loan ie last month!!!

How can I stop him getting loans at this address? Sorry I'm new to this house business and I knew you lots could help!

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,135 Times in 869 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1. unless addressed to "The Occupier" it's illegal to open mail not addressed directly to you at the property.
    2. Think nothing of it - just write (or get a stamp if there's too much) "NOT AT THIS ADDRESS, RETURN TO SENDER" and re-post every letter. Within a couple of months it should die out.
    3. If it is addressed to The Occupier, then you're well within your rights to contact the companies responsible - do so in writing only, stating that you will take legal action for harassment if they do not cease.

3. Thanks to synaesthesia from:

gibbo_ap (8th November 2011)

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,585 Times in 1,799 Posts
    That may not be enough as you could find that credit is hard to get as they have someone at that address as a bad risk. You need to write to the main credit check people, Experion, I think, and inform them that you now live there and are not responsible for any debts. I think there is another agency, too, you'd have to Google it

5. Thanks to witch from:

gibbo_ap (8th November 2011)

Thank Post