+ Post New Thread
General Chat Thread, Should I leave? in General; Hi there, I am apologise if this is the wrong place to post, but wonder if anyone can offer me ...

Thank Post

Should I leave?

Hi there,

I am apologise if this is the wrong place to post, but wonder if anyone can offer me any advice.

On Wednesday I have an interview (assessment day, yuk!) for a particular company that provides IT Support to home and businesses across London and is now expanding to where I live . The job would basically be visiting peoples homes and businesses and repairing their PCs/setting up wireless networks etc.

At the moment I am a ICT Technician for four primary schools. I manage and run the networks at these schools, I do not have any other people assisting me. Although I have phone support and monthly visits from LEA technicians.

The salary I am currently on is £19k pro rata, which works out at £17k for 44 weeks. If I was offered this job I would be on £20k per annum with up to £25k with commission and overtime.

Obviously this new job will pay more, however I will probably miss things like long holidays, being my own boss, pay rises each year and all other benefits of working in a school/public sector.

However I don't see any promotion opportunities for me at the moment and have had zero training since I have startred! I have a degree in Information Systems and have been doing this job for nearly two years now. It was my first job after uni.

If I was offered the job should I take it? I am worried I won't be able to handle the culture change from public sector to private sector?

Of course I could just shut up and go for it!

Any comments appreciated!

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,513 Times in 1,750 Posts

Re: Should I leave?

Sorry mate, but the sort of company you are talking about, around here at least,, are really tough to work for - they expect miracles in half the time and you end up running around madly being expected to perform them. How do you get the commission?