+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
General Chat Thread, Advice needed! School website - Wordpress or Joomla??? in General; Hi I'm a newbie here, just want a bit of advice from all you experts as to which CMS we ...

Thank Post

Smile Advice needed! School website - Wordpress or Joomla???

Hi I'm a newbie here, just want a bit of advice from all you experts as to which CMS we should use for our school website.

It's for a fairly small infant school who really just want the normal information on the site that you'd find on any primary school website and be able to update menu/nav bar and add links to newsletters, very basic stuff. Don't need a blog.

One of the fathers of a child at the school wants to redo the site and is pushing to use Wordpress. I've not used either but do know html, did a bit of research and have read that WP is mainly used for blog and Joomla is a better CMS. Just wondered what the experts thought would suit the purposes of the school?

I understand WP is more user friendly and that would be an advantage as the staff would need to update themselves but Joomla is more suited for CMS and the school would want to upload image galleries of school trips etc.

Thanks !

Thank Post
    This site is done in WordPress - Baines School » Nil Sine Labore, and I think it works very well. This is our own school beta done in Joomla - Welcome to Falinge Park High School. I don't believe that the CMS used is as important as who is going to maintain the site. What will happen when the child leaves school and the father no longer wants to commit time to managing your website? From my experience I've found that it's one thing for teachers to say they will update the site, but it's another to get them to actually do the work. This is partly the reason why our site is still in beta. One thing for certain is that it is better to go with a CMS as opposed to static html pages as updates/changes will cascade throughout the site.

3. Thanks to beeswax from: