+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
General Chat Thread, Ignorant and the pension thingy...me in General; OK I'll admit it I have no idea whet everyones complaining about. I've been working for county since 2005 and ...
    Thank Post

Ignorant and the pension thingy...me

OK I'll admit it I have no idea whet everyones complaining about. I've been working for county since 2005 and have been paying into my pension scheme dutifully. I'll further admit that I don't know what what I was going to get paid, everyone told me it was worth getting so I checked the box. I've never been in a pension scheme before and never read any stuff. Whats changed so much to peeve everyone off? How does it affect me?

Thank Post
    I have to admit to not being terribly clued up on this as well but from what I gather they are trying to increase the amount we put in, change the retirement age and change the pension plan from a final year pension (what you get each month is based on the last year or final 3 years) to an average of your working life. The final one seems to be a real bad one as if you take any time out it greatly effects your pension, so women in particular will be hit if they have children.

Add to that the argument from Guv & general public that our pension is "cushy" where as private sector isn't, even though it has always been we accept fairly rubbish pay with the prospect of a decent pension at the end. My thoughts on this are that if we are going to start falling in line with the private sector on things like pensions, working practices and hours then we should also start falling in line with pay and bonuses. But ha ha ha that's not very likely.

Thank Post