+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
General Chat Thread, Teaching Adult Education in General; This is probably a crazy idea but I thought I'd throw it up here for some opinions. I work as ...

Thank Post

Teaching Adult Education

This is probably a crazy idea but I thought I'd throw it up here for some opinions. I work as an ICT Technician in a Secondary/Sixth Form and at present we have very little in the way of out of school classes or adult education.

Being technically minded I was thinking it might be a good idea for the school to start offering basic IT classes to adults. Simple things like browsing the internet, how to use Word and Excel. From what I can gather there isn't much offered in the area to say the elderley and I suspect some basic IT classes might be of help.

Thing is I'm in no way a qualified tutor and no idea if I would need to be to do such a role. Any thoughts? Is it doable or a bad idea?

And of course the most important question what should I be charging for such a thing?

-28° 31' 48.89", +28° 25' 37.42" ... if only.
    Thank Post
    When I started at a secondary, many years ago, it was on condition I did one class a week. I had already been asked a few years before to run some non-IT courses for the LA Adult Ed. who sent me on a City & Guilds Adult Ed. course.

The LA sorted out the advertising, charges etc. and I was paid the going rate for teaching Adult Ed. both before working in the school and at the school.

Thank Post
    I've done this a few times for various schools - the first time I did it once a week on the promise of £20 an hour, I got diddly squat but carried on anyway until the course finished, as I felt harsh cancelling when they were all doing so well. Then ran Cisco IT essentials (school paid for me to go on an instructor course), this was offered to public (£195?) and 6th form for free. About 50 6th formers turned up on the first day, only one finished the course!