+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
General Chat Thread, Laptop Justification Help!! in General; ...

Thank Post

Lightbulb Laptop Justification Help!!

Hi!

I am a network manager and only it support staff in a special school in Birmingham. and need to write a justification to purchase myself a new computer or laptop of a high end spec that everyone will understand. So far I have

• Virtualization I am a heavy virtual box user for testing new client configuration’s and new server changes tests. (I need a none techy way of expanding this)
    • Speech Recognition I am a heavy user of dragon has I am dyslectic.
    • Network Management Tasks from home (over VPN) and work.
    • Testing new software installers sometimes recurring 10s of installs and reinstalls.
    • Working from home when school is closed or out of office times
    • Multitasking I am often doing several things at ones witch requires more ram and cpu than an average user ,
    • My currant laptop is over 7 years old and desktop is over 4.

Has anyone got any other suggestions?

Thank Post
    If you use Adobe for graphics (Or any other suite) for publications etc or maybe even moderate video editing for the school, you do need a fairly decent machine to run them.

I think you have covered most of what i would of said but if i think of anything i will add .

Also your personal development certain programmes or applications that you can continue learning at home but don't think you'd need a high spec machine for that.

Thank Post