+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
General Chat Thread, New Job as an IT Technician! in General; Hiya guys, im very new to Edugeek and must admit seems like a great site! Im currently 19 and for ...
    Thank Post
    Blog Entries

New Job as an IT Technician!

Hiya guys, im very new to Edugeek and must admit seems like a great site!

Im currently 19 and for the past 1 1/2 years to 2 years been looking for an it technicians job, all with no luck due to no experience (i can do the job but with no experience nobody wants to know)!

Im now about to be employed in a school as an it technician finally! and i really cant wait to start!!

im really just posting to ask you guys for any advice/tips on how to go about things and just general advice!

They *seem* to be running win2k server's, but they dont seem to be running imaging, they seem to whenever a machine goes wrong the technicians go out and repair the machine locally, i'd love to implement workstation imaging if i can!.

Any tips/advice/tools would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks Mart!

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,051 Times in 920 Posts

Re: New Job as an IT Technician!

RIS / WDS is the quickest and cheapest solution, but you need Server 2003 really as 2000 was a bit pants

Thank Post

Well done! I'm in the same situation as you minus the 'getting a job' bit - Like you say I could do the job all day long but I have no experience so they offer the job to someone with more experience! Argh...

Where are you in the UK?

Norton Ghost etc are the usual suspects in my book for imaging, but it all depends on how many different configuration of computers are used around the school.

Thank Post

As a recommendation from someone who worked in ICT Services when i was 16 and 17 (urgh, yes I was mature for my age), dont let the staff take advantage of you cause you're younger than they are.