+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
General Chat Thread, Assessment Task for new IT Technician in General; Hey Ladies and Gents. *As background I currently work part time as an IT Tech at a local school and ...

Thank Post

Assessment Task for new IT Technician

Hey Ladies and Gents.

*As background I currently work part time as an IT Tech at a local school and I have a Degree in I.T.

I have an interview coming up for an IT Technician position which has a 20 minute long assessment task. I have no idea what would be included within this task. For people who have experience in such matters, what form might the task take? Here is a PC, something’s wrong, deal with it? Written essay? Multiple choice?

Any idea of what sort of subjects might be tackled?

I currently work in a temporary IT Tech Position which did not require an Assessment task, so I am really worried! I am up against recent graduates who probably have been boning up on revision more so then myself.

Would you consider a poor mark a complete deal breaker? (Even if the qualifications and experience is there) I do choke up at pressure times like this!

Any help would be much appreciated!
    Last edited by Asomodai; 1st May 2011 at 11:21 AM.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,581 Times in 1,418 Posts
    I'd expect it to be a hardware repair task, don't panic.

Can you ask them what form this test will be in?

Ben

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by plexer View Post
    I'd expect it to be a hardware repair task, don't panic.

Can you ask them what form this test will be in?

Ben
    I am unsure, me asking might not be beneficial to my application.

Thank Post
    Here is a PC, something’s wrong, deal with it? Written essay? Multiple choice?
    Could be some or all of that and then some.