+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
General Chat Thread, Windows penetration in General; Hi there, Does anyone have an opinion on what proportion of school laptops run some form of Windows - or, ...

Thank Post

Windows penetration

Hi there,

Does anyone have an opinion on what proportion of school laptops run some form of Windows - or, alternatively, what proportion don't, ie. use OSX or a Linux distro? Am I simply being lazy by assuming it's near 100% Have there been any substantial (or even nationwide) surveys?

As a subsidiary question, and I ask here because I reckon ICT staff might have a more impartial view than teachers, to what extent does MS influence the provision of IT education? I work in the pubic sector, where "ICT training" provision essentially boils down to "showing people how to use Word, Excel and Powerpoint". Is that true for our schools as well? I know the KS3 national curriculum is platform neutral, but it would be very easy to substitute "ICT" with "MS Office" throughout the document.

Or, are the staff sufficiently competent to be teaching ICT? Does their lack of knowledge translate into an MS dependency? Do support staff think that they could do better?

Thoughts? Comments? Anecdotes? Brickbats? FWIW, I ask because my stepdaughter has more than once had homework which was fundamentally about learning to use Excel, and the laptop requirements and admin ownership for her school seem harsh to me.

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,668 Times in 2,265 Posts
    Blog Entries
    MS stuff is easy and known, training teachers is difficult and costly. Form follows function.

3. Thanks to SYNACK from:

Zagadka (1st May 2011)

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,877 Times in 1,395 Posts
    Blog Entries
    The kids in my place are taught pure MS office word, PowerPoint, Excel, publisher in year 5.

Scratch, pivot, flowel and movie maker in year 6.

Music tech, MS access and photo editing in year 7

Year 8 its pure ms academy

5. Thanks to nephilim from: