+ Post New Thread
General Chat Thread, Determing Speed of Fibre in General; What equipment/device will I require if I wanted to test the speed of a fibre cable? Also, is there a ...

Thank Post

Determing Speed of Fibre

What equipment/device will I require if I wanted to test the speed of a fibre cable?

Also, is there a way of finding out how many cores the fibre cable has and how many have been terminated (if that's the correct term) connected to patch panel))?

I've never done this before so don't tell me off!

Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    I believe if you put a tiny ball bearing at one end of the cable, then blow hard and time how long it takes to reach the other end you can determine the speed.
    Anything under 25s means you have a gig cable, between 25 and 20s its likely to be a damaged gig cable. anything over 1 min, chances are you swallowed the ball bearing.

Hope this helps

Sorry, I have no idea either

3. Thanks to MK-2 from:

SimpleSi (22nd March 2011)

Thank Post
    The fibre 'cable' itself wont have any speed - its just a physical piece of glass/plastic

The speed is solely determined by whatever optics you connect to each end of it. The same piece of fibre would be equally as capable of carrying 2Mbps as it would multiple 10-Gigabit wavelengths. The best way to determine that is to pull out the optic and see what the sticker says on it (or login to whatever piece of equipment its connected to and ask it)

Thank Post
    If you carefully remove the front of the fibre panel you should see where the cable itself has been passed through a gland at the back. This should have then been stripped to expose the individual cores and you will be able to see how many have been connected and if all of the available cores have been connected.