+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
General Chat Thread, 48 hours with an iPad 1 in General; I have been given an original 16Gb wifi to have a play with, I have never used one before and ...

Thank Post

48 hours with an iPad 1

I have been given an original 16Gb wifi to have a play with, I have never used one before and have decided to write a sort of blog/review. Feel free to correct my errors as this is just an on the go response. Your opinions are welcome and any tips to help the integration would be a god send!

Out of the box

Wow its heavy, not laptop heavy, but enough to be slightly uncomfortable.

Setup was easy, just used iTunes and linked it to my own account.

I decided to run through the usual free apps I have on my iPhone 4 (BBC, Sky, Twitter, etc.) The apps designed for iPad look great and really make use of the extra screen size. Those that arenít, are very small or if zoomed pixelated but useable.
    The app that made me go wow was Sky News HD, it looks stunning and brings an element of interactivity to the mundane reading of news. I hope the devs decide to progress these style of applications as they really do show off what a multitouch device can do with different medias.

Video and graphics look crisp, considering its not on a very high resolution, high pixel dense screen. The speaker is adequate.

Holding it is awkward for anything more than one fingered use and a good dock or holder is required for desktop use and typing.

A day in

So, I have been using it for a day, I like it!
    Iím exploring new things; linked my google apps and drop box.

The lack of a unified system for accessing a cloud storage provider, getting a document, editing it and sending it back frustrates me.
    Typing seems comfortable for short to medium periods of time, even if the keyboard layout isnít quite as simplistic as an ordinary desktop item, but its altogether very useable.