+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
General Chat Thread, ID cards/badges in General; A post on here yesterday got me thinking... How many of the establishments represented on Edugeek use some sort of ...

Thank Post

ID cards/badges

A post on here yesterday got me thinking...

How many of the establishments represented on Edugeek use some sort of id card or badge?

I have been suggesting this for our school for several years but the Head is against it because "it's a bit over the top and rather formal for here"...

He gets quite cross that our associated secondary school always asks him for id when he visits.

I just think it would make us all look more professional to wear id...

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by CESIL View Post
    ...but the Head is against it because "it's a bit over the top and rather formal for here"...
    We do because the head here introduced it! I can't say we'd be too upset though if we found we didn't have to anymore, but apparantly it's something to do with safeguarding. Does seem a bit OTT as the staff know who the staff are, the kids know who the staff are and visitors are given a visitor badge to wear prior to entering anyway. I just know come the next OfSTED inspection that'll we'll have to be creating replacement cards for 75% of the staff who "forgot" or "mislaid" their ID card..

Thank Post
    Were pretty strict about ID cards here - every staff member has one which must be displayed at all times.
    We have them to help keep the LA happy but also because we have a high number of 6th form students wondering around and it can be very easy to mistake them for staff members.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,567 Times in 1,407 Posts
    All staff have to have them and as they are for the access control too not many forget them now.

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,159 Times in 1,597 Posts
    As a Safeguarding measure, it is a good idea... especially in large secondaries where the staff don't all know each other.