+ Post New Thread
General Chat Thread, General IT - Inset Day in General; Hey all i'm a network technician at a school in Derby, in the up and coming weeks were having an ...

Thank Post

General IT - Inset Day

Hey all i'm a network technician at a school in Derby, in the up and coming weeks were having an inset day where each member of the IT department will be providing basic training on a particular subject to support staff. Unfortunately i've been lumbered with general IT as my subject (or lack of subject) and I am seriously lacking ideas on what to fill the hour with. The users are relatively basic but seasoned enough to not be wowed by being shown how to end tasks, create folders etc. Any idea's would be muchly appreciated.

Can't talk now: The mother-ship is calling!
    Thank Post
    Thanked 1,288 Times in 880 Posts
    Blog Entries
    If you are using Office 2010 this post might be of use to you:

Link: Make the switch to Outlook 2010: Free Microsoft Outlook 2010 Training Courses

Thank Post
    How about things like - moving/copying files, how to do group and specific select (Ctrl and Shift), etc

Thank Post
    Agree with the above, perhaps sending emails - arranging calendar entries? Doing reports in your MIS?

Thank Post
    Develop use of email - calendar, creating folders, rules, distribution groups, etc? Or basic PC troubleshooting (depends on users, and may be more use for teachers where kids have unplugged things!)

edit - Drat, beaten to it!............

Thank Post
    Thank you for the replies everyone! I feel though I should have elaborated further in my original post, the rest of the IT department collectively are covering CCTV, Microsoft Word, Excel, Powerpoint and E-Mail meaning I can't really cover any of these subjects.