Poll: How busy is your xmas work?

+ Post New Thread
General Chat Thread, Xmas time: how busy are you? in General; Over the years the workload around xmas has varied somewhere depending on where I worked. When I worked in retail, ...

Thank Post

Xmas time: how busy are you?

Over the years the workload around xmas has varied somewhere depending on where I worked.

When I worked in retail, it was obviously rather busy, but in a retail services company, the workload was lower (noone can spare tills etc at their busiest time of the year). In one school the last 2 weeks or so was no stop, others there is little to do except answer the "my dvd doesn't work" and catch up on outstanding old paperwork or jobs that are so non-urgent that they date back to the stone age.

What's it like for you?

Thank Post
    so far today i have installed office on a pc, teachers daughter had forgotten her laptop password so ive reset that, downloaded a vista dvd (i appear to of lost mine) to rebuild the heads own laptop after its decided that the hdd has 0 partitions wish id brought my kindle lol

Thank Post
    It's quiet here. pupils and teachers are on the wind down (We break up a week today), so demands are fairly low. Perhaps I can get a shot at configuring this IAS I've been meaning to do for ages!

Thank Post
    The phone is a lot quieter, as is the helpdesk, and there's less knocks at the door because a lot of the kids are out on enrichment activities. But, I'm off over Christmas so I am using this quiet time to sort out AV. We've not long moved across to Kaspersky, and although it's a blessing compared to Symantec, we have a few machines that are being a pain.

Basically, I'm trying to get all 6 lights green on the overview page, which is not the easiest thing on a network of 300 machines. Once I do, I'm going to screenprint it and then never worry about AV again