+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
General Chat Thread, Software for web design in General; I'll start off by saying, I'm not a web designer.... I have fiddled and diddled with them before, and I ...

Thank Post

Software for web design

I'll start off by saying, I'm not a web designer.... I have fiddled and diddled with them before, and I have enough knowledge of computers to work out how most sites work eventually.

But I do not know any proper coding language, or web design language.

I have been tasked with revamping/designing my school's website, and they want some dynamic banners that cycle images, video/photo galleries, and a generally clean and tidy look.... All of which are, frankly, beyond the abilities of Frontpage 2003, which I currently have.

Since anything I do will take some minor re-education, anyone recommend a web design software package that doesn't require me to spend the next 2 years learning a new coding language to do what I want, some decent template options, and not requiring a doctorate in astrophysics to operate it?

I have worked with frontpage mostly for simple HTML based editing, have played with Dreamweaver 4-6 years ago, but nothing more than playing, and when I did they were still Macromedia!
    Otherwise, I'm a blank slate on this!

Thank Post
    Have you had a look at Joomla?

3. Thanks to rush_tech from:

Rydra (24th November 2010)

Thank Post
    Konquerer is some free stuff similar to Dreamweaver, but not sure if it does what you want. Why not just google for some scripts that do what you want (i.e. image header/banner rotator) - most scripts will give you good indication on how to implement it into your site.

Thank Post
    this:

Madeley Academy > Home

Is ours, based on DotNetNuke...and I'd suggest not going to DNN as a platform. I find it very buggy. Just my opinion though, I tend to do all content for it in Dreamweaver and port it in.