+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 99
General Chat Thread, Lea and Perrins unsuitable for Vegetarians! in General; I was shocked to find out that Lea and Perrins contains Anchovies making it unsuitable for vegetarians. My other half, ...
  1. #1
    rolfea's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Hereford
    Posts
    682
    Thank Post
    66
    Thanked 50 Times in 25 Posts
    Rep Power
    22

    Lea and Perrins unsuitable for Vegetarians!

    I was shocked to find out that Lea and Perrins contains Anchovies making it unsuitable for vegetarians.

    My other half, who has been a vegetarian for the majority of her life used to use Worcestershire Sauce on everything and is now truly gutted she can no longer use it.

    Anyone else know of any shockers like this?

  2. #2

    creese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    -28° 31' 48.89", +28° 25' 37.42" ... if only.
    Posts
    3,261
    Thank Post
    182
    Thanked 375 Times in 304 Posts
    Rep Power
    183
    I was a veggie for 20 years, i'msure Worc. sauce was always a no no during that time.

    How about Cheese and onion crisps being non veggie and Bovril being veggie? I'm sure it's the Bovril ones. Smokey Bacon is Veggie for sure.

  3. #3

    sparkeh's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    7,231
    Thank Post
    1,446
    Thanked 1,859 Times in 1,252 Posts
    Blog Entries
    22
    Rep Power
    559
    Parmesan Cheese

  4. #4

    creese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    -28° 31' 48.89", +28° 25' 37.42" ... if only.
    Posts
    3,261
    Thank Post
    182
    Thanked 375 Times in 304 Posts
    Rep Power
    183
    Quote Originally Posted by sparkeh View Post
    Parmesan Cheese
    Most cheese is non veggie due to the rennet, from a cow's stomach, being used.

  5. #5

    plexer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Norfolk
    Posts
    13,689
    Thank Post
    756
    Thanked 1,715 Times in 1,526 Posts
    Rep Power
    438
    Oh yeah fermented anchovies saw it on hows it's made or similar program recently it's quite rank what goes in to it but oh soo good

    Ben

  6. #6

    sparkeh's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    7,231
    Thank Post
    1,446
    Thanked 1,859 Times in 1,252 Posts
    Blog Entries
    22
    Rep Power
    559
    Quote Originally Posted by creese View Post
    Most cheese is non veggie due to the rennet, from a cow's stomach, being used.
    Not *most* really, loads of cheese is made with non animal rennet these days, but parmesan deserves a special mention as it is *always* made from animal rennet.

  7. #7

    localzuk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Minehead
    Posts
    18,529
    Thank Post
    527
    Thanked 2,648 Times in 2,049 Posts
    Blog Entries
    24
    Rep Power
    925
    Quote Originally Posted by creese View Post
    Most cheese is non veggie due to the rennet, from a cow's stomach, being used.
    Not true. Most cheese in the UK is now made with non-animal rennet. This changed in the last 5-10 years.

    The Lee&Perrins thing is a well known fish product. There are vegetarian alternatives such as this -http://www.veggiestuff.com/acatalog/vegetarian_worcester_sauce_life.html I have a bottle at home.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    548
    Thank Post
    38
    Thanked 90 Times in 80 Posts
    Rep Power
    40
    I always find shellac to be an interesting one

    The Vegetarian Society says that it is veggie but personally I wouldn't touch anything with it in

  9. #9

    localzuk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Minehead
    Posts
    18,529
    Thank Post
    527
    Thanked 2,648 Times in 2,049 Posts
    Blog Entries
    24
    Rep Power
    925
    Quote Originally Posted by sparkeh View Post
    Not *most* really, loads of cheese is made with non animal rennet these days, but parmesan deserves a special mention as it is *always* made from animal rennet.
    Also bear in mind that this only refers to 'fresh' parmesan. The stuff that comes in tubs, dried, is not normally actual paremsan cheese and is usually vegetarian.

  10. Thanks to localzuk from:

    sparkeh (14th October 2010)

  11. #10

    creese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    -28° 31' 48.89", +28° 25' 37.42" ... if only.
    Posts
    3,261
    Thank Post
    182
    Thanked 375 Times in 304 Posts
    Rep Power
    183
    Quote Originally Posted by sparkeh View Post
    Not *most* really, loads of cheese is made with non animal rennet these days, but parmesan deserves a special mention as it is *always* made from animal rennet.
    Ooops. Slip of the finger. Shoild have said was not is. As I say I'm an ex-veggie so out of touch with these things.

  12. #11

    tech_guy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    That little bit in the middle of Little Old England
    Posts
    8,162
    Thank Post
    1,924
    Thanked 1,358 Times in 748 Posts
    Blog Entries
    3
    Rep Power
    400
    I always laugh when people describe themselves as vegetarian but then go on in the same breath to say that they do eat fish - as if it's not an animal.

  13. #12

    creese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    -28° 31' 48.89", +28° 25' 37.42" ... if only.
    Posts
    3,261
    Thank Post
    182
    Thanked 375 Times in 304 Posts
    Rep Power
    183
    Quote Originally Posted by tech_guy View Post
    I always laugh when people describe themselves as vegetarian but then go on in the same breath to say that they do eat fish - as if it's not an animal.
    Those Piscatarians!

  14. #13

    HarryMonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Bedford
    Posts
    1,203
    Thank Post
    63
    Thanked 238 Times in 180 Posts
    Rep Power
    176
    Extra Strong Mints (in fact, most mints) are not suitable for vegetarians as they contain gellatine which is produced from animal by-products, mainly bones.

    Anything containing E120, a red colouring agent made from the red body material of scale insects (Dactilopius coccus) ... this can include some spirits and red wines.

  15. #14

    sparkeh's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    7,231
    Thank Post
    1,446
    Thanked 1,859 Times in 1,252 Posts
    Blog Entries
    22
    Rep Power
    559
    Quote Originally Posted by localzuk View Post
    Also bear in mind that this only refers to 'fresh' parmesan. The stuff that comes in tubs, dried, is not normally actual paremsan cheese and is usually vegetarian.
    Mmm thanks I'll take a look at the supermarket! I did used to love Parmesan.

    I also had to give up Guinness when I found out that was not Vegetarian

  16. #15
    linkazoid's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    London
    Posts
    660
    Thank Post
    125
    Thanked 90 Times in 74 Posts
    Rep Power
    79
    We went to Mc'D's the other day to get some grub. The staff were shocked to find out that Fanta was not suitable for vegiterians as most of them drank it.



SHARE:
+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. EduGeek & Unsuitable URLs
    By Edu-IT in forum Blue Skies
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 16th March 2010, 02:07 PM
  2. Unsuitable Google Image - Removal Denied
    By docboggle in forum Internet Related/Filtering/Firewall
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 19th October 2009, 12:09 PM
  3. LEA filtering
    By ozzy in forum General Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 3rd October 2008, 09:49 PM

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •