+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
General Chat Thread, Publishing my salary in General; I'm an ICT Technician on the crap salary of £13k pa. I'm expected to look after 500+ PCs and Laptops, ...

Thank Post

Publishing my salary

I'm an ICT Technician on the crap salary of £13k pa.
    I'm expected to look after 500+ PCs and Laptops, printers, stock control, projectors, SIMS, network, web site, video, cameras, music keyboards and software etc etc.
    From what I can gather I'm the lowest paid member of staff except for the cleaners. Problem is that no-one believes this - one teacher said that I must be on at least £25k and should stop complaining!
    So, I was considering scanning my salary slip and emailing it to all staff in order to clarify my position and help them realise what a great deal they're getting.
    Now I understand that if I was on a decent salary then the school wouldn't like this as it could cause arguments and resentment among the rest of staff but since I'm the lowest paid then this issue wouldn't arise.
    Since my salary is my own business then I feel that I can do what I want with it.
    I can't see that it's a sacking offence although I'm sure that the Head and his cronies wouldn't be pleased.
    What do you think?

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,032 Times in 812 Posts
    I'm not sure you should email to everyone. Perhaps do it a bit more discreetly if you think the teaching staff will be on your side, word travels fast.

Does your local authority have any sort of recommended payscales for your job?

Thank Post
    I do not really see what you are trying to achieve by wanting to do this. To be quite honest, most staff will think you are getting a raw deal on such a low salary but it won't start a campaign on their behalf to get your pay increased will it?