+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
General Chat Thread, IT Tech: Qualifications? in General; Hi guys, I've been working in a secondary school as an IT Tech for nearly three years now, and I'm ...
    Thank Post

IT Tech: Qualifications?

Hi guys,

I've been working in a secondary school as an IT Tech for nearly three years now, and I'm looking at moving on, and wondering what kind of qualifications I need to gain in order to progress.

I was very fortunate in joining a local secondary school as an IT Tech straight from Sixth Form. I left with an A-Level in ICT, English and French, plus my GCSEs, but I have no other formal qualifications. IT-tech wise, I'm relavitely competent in configuring switches, working with XP desktops, Active Directory, DNS + DHCP, IIS, Apache, Linux boxes, plus server and desktop hardware etc. So what I'm after is what you think would be sensible qualifications for me to look at taking. Something like CCNA, or would Microsoft qualifications be more recognised or indeed sought after when applying for another schools IT post?

Also if I were to go with something like MS qualifications, does anyone have any general information about them? For example what's involved? Home study? Study at college Any recommendations of companies/organisations to study with? Study guides? Any information you've got would be much appreciated

Thanks, in anticipation!
    Tom.

Thank Post
    I would say look at CCNA and MCITP, they seem to be the most recognised and from what job adverts i've seen employers tend to ask for those, or the MCSE.

When I did my MCSA i just did loads of home study, i'm currently working towards the MCITP by home study using the Microsoft Press books, but i''m thinking of getting either CBTNuggets or the TestOut packages as well as I don't like reading books too much.

3. Thanks to dezt from:

vizubeat (6th July 2010)

Thank Post