+ Post New Thread
General Chat Thread, Cleaning in General; Hi guys, didn't really know where to post this so I hope I'm right. Probabaly should have been in FFS. ...
    Thank Post

Cleaning

Hi guys, didn't really know where to post this so I hope I'm right. Probabaly should have been in FFS. I am a network manager at a secondary school in Lincolnshire and get two or three e-mails a week from memebers of staff along the lines of "My mouse/keyboard/screen needs cleaning". Is it just me or is this a little out of order - I do not consider this to be any part of my job nor the job of my technician.

Am I the only one?

Tom

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,619 Times in 1,449 Posts

Re: Cleaning

Who do you think should be cleaning the IT equipment then? I wouldn't like to have the cleaners dripping dirty water over everything.

As much as I hat it as well and don't believe I should do I do to keep the piece allthough I restrict what we do to the main IT rooms mainly and do some mice for people if they moan but as most are opticals it's not soo much of a problem.

Ben

Thank Post

We have actually done the IT Suites before but only once a year or so and as you say, just to keep the peace. It just annoys me when its a member of staff complaining about their PC in the classroom. By the time I have sorted out getting it done would it not be as easy to do it themselves. Teachers keyboards are also disgusting and whenever I have had to get my technician to clean one I always make sure he tells them that the keboard will work much better if they stop using it as a coaster/plate. :twisted:

Tom

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,784 Times in 1,107 Posts
    Blog Entries

We have one of the cleaners do it for us ... we have trained them up and provide them with the cleaning kit. The time it saves is worth it but you could always consider getting kids to do it as community service.

Thank Post
    Blog Entries