+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
General Chat Thread, Leaving school... in General; ...
    Thank Post

Leaving school...

So i've been working at my school for two years now, and recently I've gotten tired with the awful pay, being treated like a 2nd rate member of staff, lack of management, accountability etc... basically the stuff all of us have to deal with!

So I applied for an ICT technician job at my local borough council. To my utter shock I got an interview. Two weeks time in fact.

All of a sudden I'm absolutely terrified of leaving! I'm worried I've been institutionalized but I can't turn down an extra £300 in the pocket every month..can I? Now it's unlikely I'll get it, i'm sure there's a lot of competition so I'm not too worried.

Would any of you turn down an extra £300 a month for basically the same job your doing? Perhaps adding a 20min drive either way? And not to mention the uncertainty of changing jobs?

Not really been in this position before.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,212 Times in 761 Posts
    It sounds like a very good opportunity and I recommend you go for it full steam ahead. If you're undecided about leaving, remember you can always turn any job offer down. When I interviewed for my current job I wasn't sure if I actually wanted it or not, and when they called to offer it to me I asked them if I could think about it overnight, as I still hadn't made my mind up. I ended up taking it and it was a great move in the end.

Thank Post
    Yep - I'd turn it down potentially if that was all I was going for. I have done in the past in fact. Sometimes it's true to say there is more to life than money.

It would depend on a range of things to me
    1) How unhappy I was in my current post
    2) What opportunities exist in the new post for development career progression etc
    3) Would I be any happier overall