+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
General Chat Thread, Sooo, i'm a 'network manager'! in General; Hello there, Here I am, a couple of months into my first IT-based job - 'Network Manager' at a medium ...
    Thank Post

Sooo, i'm a 'network manager'!

Hello there,

Here I am, a couple of months into my first IT-based job - 'Network Manager' at a medium sized primary school (400ish children). I have no 'official' training in the IT field. All I have is self-taught knowledge from using, breaking, and sometimes fixing computers since a young age (i'm 22 now).

Like I say, my title is 'Network Manager', but just from reading this forum for the last month (which I am SO glad Iíve found Ė Thankyou edugeek!) I appreciate that my schools version of a 'Network Manager' is probably very different to another schools. My predecessor was here for a long time, and she began as a volunteer. She was here from the start, and was part of getting the school to where it is now in terms of IT today. The result of that development is that my role of ĎNetwork Managerí is part time, and nearly all the technical side of things are handled by an external support team who work closely with RM. So far being here, Iíve been taking each day as it comes, trying to unravel and understand a position of somebody who had literally been at the school since the day I was born.