+ Post New Thread
General Chat Thread, Talmos VLE??? in General; wondering what peoples view is on TALMOS my boss has found it and likes the look of it. just wondering ...
    Thank Post

Talmos VLE???

wondering what peoples view is on TALMOS my boss has found it and likes the look of it. just wondering what you wonderful folks thoughts were on the product.

i have read the previous posts but some are old

cheers in advance

Thank Post
    I have been working with Talmos for nearly 3 years now. Looked great but in important respects was very clunky. I am writing up the experience for a Masters and can just copy over relevant section as below. You should bear in mind that CoreUK don't always upgrade existing customers with new versions (!) and therefore newer version might be better.

"A major attraction of Talmos was mapping resources to lessons on the timetable as in Figure 1 above. When it is in place this undoubtedly saves valuable lesson time for both teachers and learners. Teachers save time because a sequence of lessons can be prepared in a “Master Scheme” can be allocated to classes and then to lessons with simple clicks. This particularly saves time when a lesson plan will be delivered to a large number of classes – eg Year 9 Religious Studies has 15 classes at QE, and is delivered by a large number of teachers who are grateful to have the bulk of the preparation done by a subject leader. However this system of mapping resources is in practice very inflexible: Resources are allocated to the Master Scheme, then to teaching groups in My Plans and then to the lesson slots.