+ Post New Thread
General Chat Thread, Staff Structure in General; I think this may get a varied response, however I am just interested in other peoples views & opinions. I ...

Thank Post

Staff Structure

I think this may get a varied response, however I am just interested in other peoples views & opinions.

I am a professional in the ICT industry, and have recently over the last month started support a technician in a school. Only a couple of hours a week and the work generally consists of clearing back logs - the school has been neglected for a couple of YEARS!!

The school setup (roughly) is as follows....

• Single Network (with Primary & Backup Domain Controller)
    • 200 Workstations (media, music, 4 ICT suites, administration office, and lecture workstations)
    • 700 Users
    • 75 Laptops (for staff)
    • Wi-Fi throughout
    • Exchange mail server

What staff structure do you think would be suitable, technicians (full time, part time), management / development leader? who links with senior leadership? A management company is out of the question, for now- yet I'd be interested to hear your views on that too! In the first instance they are looking to maintain current hardware & software, with a view to develop, expand and evolve their ICT usage (for staff & students).

Look forward to some discussion around this topic, also any good pointers to helping out (software / other resources).... It's my mission to get them back on track!!

Thanks guys!!

Thank Post
    Some of my opinions:

My school we have a manager and two technicians. One who has a different role. Manager links in with SMT and is line managed (or we as a team) by assistant head teacher who is part of the SMT. Though as in most organizations? we can approach anyone in the SMT if we need to (and so should be able to) for whatever reason.