+ Post New Thread
General Chat Thread, Career / pay thoughts for education IT in General; Hello Good People - I am in the middle of a mid life career change (which was preceded by a ...
    Thank Post

Career / pay thoughts for education IT

Hello Good People - I am in the middle of a mid life career change (which was preceded by a mid life crisis wherein I purchased a Harley) and am trying to figure out next steps. I just posted in the "hello I'm new here" if you want to read some of that drivel about my school and district.

In my previous life I completed a 2yr degree in Electronics in '84 and did 24yrs in private sector high tech focused in HW. The last 16 were at Intel doing HW design where I eventually earned obscene amounts of money (explains the Harley) + obscene amounts of stress which culminated in an extreme burn-out. I would rather sell my soul than ever work for a publicly traded company again.

I am really quite lucky to have landed my current job providing direct support at a large high school (about 2000 students). When I was hired 4yrs ago the district did not even have an official position description for my job (Computer Support Tech) and I was hired as a Instructional Assistant. The district certainly had tech positions etc. but for senior roving techs who might support 2 - 4 schools and who report directly to district IT. The initial pay level was very low at $12.50/hr - but I needed a job and more importantly needed a IT job to start my career switch. For 2yrs we survived by pulling money out of our retirement to make ends meet. About a year ago the district recognized the need for dedicated local support and defined a position + pay scale -- but the school board has indicated they cannot officially fund the positions (yet) out of the districts main pot of money.