+ Post New Thread
General Chat Thread, Becoming a full time school technician in General; I was just wondering how people have got into working full time as IT techs in education? I am currently ...

Thank Post

Becoming a full time school technician

I was just wondering how people have got into working full time as IT techs in education?

I am currently studying the final year of a degree in Primary Education and ICT (started out going to be a teacher, then decided it wasn't for me and swapped round the finish the course without teaching). At the moment I do half a day a week of IT tech at the local primary school which I really enjoy and would like to get a job doing it full time when I finish my course next July.

Was wondering really if anyone has got any tips on the best way to get in?? I'm hoping my experience from doing half-days might count for something. I'm guessing I'm not likely to find much in the primary sector?

Also, is there a great emphasis on loads of varied high-level experience and certifications?

TIA,

Chris.

Thank Post

Re: Becoming a full time school technician

Around here, there is more of a weighting on experience than qualifications. It doesn't matter how good you are at passing exams if you can't actually do the job.

Your best bet is to keep checking the job ads (particularly those of your local authority/council) and get a low-paid job (e.g. jnr technician) in a high school and then work up as quick as you gain in experience and confidence.

Thank Post

Hi Chris from another newbie.

Your experience helping out in a primary will look good on your cv, it's the sort of thing employers look for, though not the be all and end all of it. I was a primary school governor for 12 years so I have an idea of what I'm talking about.