+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
General Chat Thread, Advice please network manager - technician struggle in General; I currently work as an IT technician in a school alongside a netwrok manager and assistant network manager. The network ...

Thank Post

Advice please network manager - technician struggle

I currently work as an IT technician in a school alongside a netwrok manager and assistant network manager.

The network manager is directly responsible for me, and the assistant is there to supervise. Currently the assistant spends more time calling me to fix problems he has no idea of solving. The network manager sees himself as more of a IT manager, than network, choosing to role out software and systems at leisure, with not consultation with colleagues or ourselves. His attitude is that he provides software and that is as far as his support goes. IF a member of staff has problems using a piece of software aslong as it functions and it is the user with the problem he does not see this as his problem. but instead we are left with the backlash of introducing new software and new systems with no consultation.

His job descriptions specificallly states that he must provide adequate training and support for technicians in order to maintain efficient and effective support of the network. He takes a lot of time off, and we lack the direction needed to support the network correctly during his absence. When he returns from absence he never wishes to know about problems and lack considerations when allocating work.

If he thinks of a job today its done then, regardless of outstanding jobs or problems.