+ Post New Thread
General Chat Thread, How much money should i be asking for? in General; ...

Thank Post

How much money should i be asking for?

At the moment i work in a school as part of a 2 man technician team with an offsite support company partly managing the I.T in school.

It is a nightmare so me and my colleague look to be taking over full control in the near future and we will obviously be expecting more money. Even now i feel our jobs exceed "technician" as we are developing new office and school procedures and are solely responsible for investigating and trialing new hardware/sofware for the future much in the way a I.T Manager would be doing, we are not just reparing and maintaining, we are making all the decisions that affect the school.

At the moment we are both roughly on £15k but my question is how much do you think we should be demanding when everything comes in-house and we will both have taken our MCTS qualifications. Just looking for some ballpark figures from schools which may be setup in a similar way with 2 technicians sharing all duties.

Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    A few friends of mine, who are technicians in a 3 man team, for a secondary school are on aprox £ 16,000. One of them, whose a Senior tech at a Secondary is on about £18,000
    It depends on school, how much money they've got to spend on ICT and staffing. Sometimes schools are reluctant to pay more unless they can see the benefits. I think as long as you can show how much work is and will be done and how it will benefit the school I can't see them arguing too much about a pay rise.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,081 Times in 997 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BrianG View Post
    A few friends of mine, who are technicians in a 3 man team, for a secondary school are on aprox £ 16,000. One of them, whose a Senior tech at a Secondary is on about £18,000