+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
General Chat Thread, Making an application for a post as ICT Technician - no experience in a school Help! in General; I am a Component Nesting Computer Programmer at a Large engineering firm in North Yorkshire. My aim in life is ...

Thank Post

Red face Making an application for a post as ICT Technician - no experience in a school Help!

I am a Component Nesting Computer Programmer at a Large engineering firm in North Yorkshire.
    My aim in life is to work as a ICT Technician and a post in the Secondary School near where I live has come up vacant which I would love to do.
    I have no experience in working in a school or with young people. My ICT qualifications are City and Guilds Diploma in ICT Practice with A+ and Diploma for ICT Practitioners. I have great deal of skills and expertise in all areas of ICT which is mainly self taught over 20 odd years.
    additionally to my current job I work freelance and for next to nothing/as a favour as a PC/Laptop repairmen for friends/neighbours and their acquaintances in my local area. I get a lot of requests for my services and customers are always really happy with my work.
    What I wish to ask the forum is whether what i have is relevant to the post I am hoping to go for?
    I was told I should go for this job by one of the teachers (who works there) who I did a PC repair for a few days ago.
    Please help me to word my application form/supporting letter right or just some common sense advice would be great.
    Thanks
    Fintan

Thank Post
    Well I got my post in a school with no previous experience, infact I didn't even work in the IT industry at the time, I worked in retail and did IT as a bit of a hobby almost, so it is possible to get appointed with no previous experience.