General Chat Thread, Computer Products Ltd Needs Your Help Guys! in General; Hi Guys
We recieved an email this morning from a gentleman showing us a link to a website masquerading as ...
-
17th August 2009, 01:47 PM #1 Computer Products Ltd Needs Your Help Guys!
Hi Guys
We recieved an email this morning from a gentleman showing us a link to a website masquerading as our company including things like our company registration number,
We need your help to track the owners off this website down so we can get it shut down,
We also need to show this post to help stop any unknowing customers from getting scammed by this website so under no circumstances use the following website to purchase anything,
COMPUTER PRODUCTS LIMITED - Home
thankyou in advance to all you edugeek Sleuths,
-
-
IDG Tech News
-
17th August 2009, 01:51 PM #2 Well the page.tl domain claims to be free webhosting, but must be responsible for their subdomains. Contact: http://www.own-free-website.com/impressum.php#support
page.tl Registrant details: Benjamin Lochmann
Benjamin Lochmann New Media GmbH
Senefelderstrasse 10
Nuernberg, Bayern 90409
DE
Last edited by powdarrmonkey; 17th August 2009 at 01:53 PM.
-
Thanks to powdarrmonkey from:
-
17th August 2009, 01:58 PM #3 % This is the RIPE Database query service.
% The objects are in RPSL format.
%
% The RIPE Database is subject to Terms and Conditions.
% See http://www.ripe.net/db/support/db-terms-conditions.pdf
% Note: This output has been filtered.
% To receive output for a database update, use the "-B" flag.
% Information related to '80.190.202.0 - 80.190.202.127'
inetnum: 80.190.202.0 - 80.190.202.127
netname: HBG-NET-DE
descr: webme GmbH
descr: 91054 Erlangen
country: DE
admin-c: BL1935-RIPE
tech-c: IPX
remarks: ###################################
remarks: #Abuse Contact: abuse-de@webme.com#
remarks: ###################################
status: ASSIGNED PA
mnt-by: IPPARTNER-MNT
source: RIPE # Filtered
role: IP Exchange Network Operation Center
address: IP Exchange GmbH
address: Am Tower 5
address: 90475 Nuernberg
address: DE
phone: +49 911 30950 50
remarks: +------------------------------------------------------
remarks: | In case of abuse please contact abuse@ip-exchange.de |
remarks: |------------------------------------------------------|
remarks: | In case of technical problems please contact: |
remarks: | IP Exchange Network Operation Center 24x7 |
remarks: | noc@ip-exchange.de Tel.: +49 911 309 50 50 |
remarks: |------------------------------------------------------|
abuse-mailbox: abuse@ip-exchange.de
admin-c: GT-RIPE
tech-c: GT-RIPE
tech-c: LUKE-RIPE
tech-c: KS-RIPE
tech-c: SVEN2-RIPE
nic-hdl: IPX
mnt-by: IPPARTNER-MNT
source: RIPE # Filtered
person: Benjamin Lochmann
address: Homepage Baukasten GmbH
address: Richard-Wagner-Str. 2
address: D-91054 Erlangen
address: DE
phone: +49 911 6603839
nic-hdl: BL1935-RIPE
mnt-by: IPPARTNER-MNT
source: RIPE # Filtered
% Information related to '80.190.0.0/16AS15598'
route: 80.190.0.0/16
descr: IP Exchange GmbH
origin: AS15598
mnt-by: IPPARTNER-MNT
source: RIPE # Filtered
-
-
17th August 2009, 01:58 PM #4 There is a phone and e-mail address displayed via Network-Tools.com...
Person: Benjamin Lochmann
address: Homepage Baukasten GmbH
address: Richard-Wagner-Str. 2
address: D-91054 Erlangen
address: DE
phone: +49 911 6603839
e-mail: blochmann@gmail.com
...so hopefully you should be able to chase things up quite quickly.
mb
-
-
17th August 2009, 02:04 PM #5 I would email this company: Free Website - Hosting your Homepage for free
http://www.own-free-website.com/impressum.php#support
Inform them that a website been hosted by one of their customers is wrong etc and see what they can do for you.
Might also be worth contacting the company, find out some further information about them.. payment options etc see if that gives you any more information you can use to track them down.
James.
-
-
17th August 2009, 02:06 PM #6 Interesting, the IP address involved appears to be run by very industrious scum bags and hosted on a german ISP
82.98.86.161
Over 100 domains point to it.
The BGP AS belongs to:
PLUSLINE Plus.Line AG IP-Services Mainzer Landstr. 199 60326 Frankfurt Germany
-
-
17th August 2009, 02:06 PM #7 No further help, but I would hope that anyone visiting the site would be able to guess that it's iffy: the poor design, use of Comic Sans on a business site, dodgy payment methods, dubious and capitalization and spacing, "translated from another language" grammar and awful spelling should be give-aways.
-
Thanks to LeMarchand from:
-
17th August 2009, 02:07 PM #8 Also search on the email brings up lots of forums where they have spammed.
Russ
-
-
17th August 2009, 02:08 PM #9 Genius: COMPUTER PRODUCTS LIMITED - Payment Terms
"Please smile and I will give you a pound"
-
Thanks to powdarrmonkey from:
-
17th August 2009, 02:09 PM #10
-
-
17th August 2009, 02:09 PM #11 
Originally Posted by
russdev
have added him fella just waiting to see if he accepts
-
-
17th August 2009, 02:11 PM #12 Join him on facebook
Log In | Facebook 
Russ
-
-
17th August 2009, 02:14 PM #13 
Originally Posted by
powdarrmonkey
Wow, thought the site looked 'dodgy' without that! Excellent - "well take your money and not even bother to send you anything in return".
I wonder how meny people actually fall for these scam sites? E-mail a "sales" rep on an hotmail address and then send money via Weston Union. Tbh - if you're stupid enough to do it then you deserve to lose your money!
-
-
17th August 2009, 02:16 PM #14 
Originally Posted by
SYNACK
Interesting, the IP address involved appears to be run by very industrious scum bags and hosted on a german ISP
82.98.86.161
Over 100 domains point to it.
The BGP AS belongs to:
PLUSLINE Plus.Line AG IP-Services Mainzer Landstr. 199 60326 Frankfurt Germany
To be fair (?) if it's a free webhosting site I'd expect over 100 domains to point at the IP.
-
-
17th August 2009, 02:16 PM #15 You could be cheeky and contact Boston.com and politely ask them if they can change the contents of Picture of "JONHSON HARRY" (from the "Company Payment Information" page) to be a more appropriate photograph/image
mb
-
SHARE: 
Similar Threads
-
By CPLTD in forum Our Advertisers
Replies: 8
Last Post: 30th March 2009, 02:42 PM
-
By CPLTD in forum Our Advertisers
Replies: 2
Last Post: 5th February 2009, 09:14 AM
-
By CPLTD in forum Our Advertisers
Replies: 6
Last Post: 13th July 2008, 09:26 AM
-
By Dos_Box in forum Our Advertisers
Replies: 5
Last Post: 9th May 2008, 01:55 PM
Thread Information
Users Browsing this Thread
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)
Posting Permissions
- You may not post new threads
- You may not post replies
- You may not post attachments
- You may not edit your posts
-
Forum Rules