+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
General Chat Thread, Planning for the Future in General; Hi everyone this is my first post on EduGeek, I come seeking advice I have recently graduated from University with ...
    Thank Post

Lightbulb Planning for the Future

Hi everyone this is my first post on EduGeek, I come seeking advice I have recently graduated from University with a first class hons degree in Computer Science. I have been lucky enough in this economic climate to land a job in a local high school working as a ICT Technician.

Now I have finished my education and have my degree I am left wondering 'what should I do next' I feel as though I need to be planning for my future. I know that my current job is a good stepping stone in building a foundation of experience for future progression. But I'm left wondering where do I want to go, and what do I want to do and most importantly how am I going to get there!

As I am a newbie to the working life, I would be grateful for some advice on any qualifications which I should look at taking, or any ideas on how to progress my career from where I stand at the minute.

Maybe someone who has been in the same boat as me, you could share your experience and point me in the right direction

Thank-You for reading my post

I look forward to your responses

Master_Geek

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,727 Times in 1,490 Posts
    Blog Entries
    Hi,

I am into my 3rd year of Working in IT in schools. I have recently doing the same thing as you and i am planning on going to university. I have no other qualifications apart from my GCSE's.

On how you want to progress career wise only you can answer. What would you like to see yourself doing?

Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    I'm in a position to employ technicians (although not at the moment) - but I would be looking at experience. A first is good but can you do this, this and this (whatever is relevant to my network).