+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
General Chat Thread, IT Teachers and Computer rights in General; Hey guys, I'm a Network Manager at a fairly small special school in Durham, we only have about 65 machines. ...

Thank Post

IT Teachers and Computer rights

Hey guys, I'm a Network Manager at a fairly small special school in Durham, we only have about 65 machines. The head give me strict instructions last night to change all our administration passwords and change the IT teacher from an Adminstrator back to a normal staff user due to a few complains he has had against this particular teacher. When the head explained the situation to the teacher he has kicked up a massive fuss and send numerous letters to both the school governors and his union.

He also mentioned that if we were a main stream school we would require 2 administrators is this true?
    so i was just wondering, Do the IT teachers in your school have admin rights? and also how many administrators do you have in your school?

Thanks
    Ian

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,925 Times in 1,420 Posts
    Blog Entries
    You should have 2 administrative accounts as a standard practice incase you are off ill, and it should be assigned to either the Head of IT or your next in line, whichever is appropriate in your case. I have 2 accounts, one of which is mine, the other is my bosses.

But in the grand scheme of things, I am the only one who does the administering!

Thank Post
    IT Teachers are not part of the administration setup, they are teachers so there is no reason/need for them to have Admin rights.
    They do not control the network, they teach the curriculum, so like any other teacher they should have a teacher account.
    If you were not there then I would say fair enough, but as you are the network manager and responsible for the network you shouldn't grant them permissions on the basis that if he cocks things up, it's on you.

Thank Post