+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
General Chat Thread, Authors Working in Schools in General; BBC NEWS | UK | School safety 'insult' to Pullman Sorry, but am I the only one that is shocked ...
    Thank Post

Authors Working in Schools

BBC NEWS | UK | School safety 'insult' to Pullman

Sorry, but am I the only one that is shocked they haven't been required to wayyyy before this? "I'm an author so I can't be a paedophile"... Umm...

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,166 Times in 1,601 Posts
    Realistically, how often is a visiting author/sportsman/insert-occupation-of your-choice left on their own with the kids?

In my school, never. Those who do school visits regularly (not just to us) do get themselves CRB checked, but we all know that the check isn't transferrable.

An unsupervised paedophile is a problem... if there's always a member of staff with a visitor, it's pretty unlikely to be a problem.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,644 Times in 1,100 Posts
    Blog Entries
    What makes authors so special they don't require a check?

Either you have a scheme that applies to everyone or you don't have one at all.

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,166 Times in 1,601 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sparkeh View Post
    What makes authors so special they don't require a check?

Either you have a scheme that applies to everyone or you don't have one at all.
    Does your school only let people in who have had a CRB check?

I doubt it.

Schools have loads of visitors, be it delivery people, trades-people, occupational therapist, people talking to the kids on some on topic or whatever.

Some, but by no means all are CRB checked.

All schools take the same approach, visitors are accompanied and if there's any doubt whatsoever, they are never left alone with a child or group of children.

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,315 Times in 1,628 Posts