+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
General Chat Thread, I'm about to become a network manager - any tips? in General; Hi, In 4 weeks time I'll become a network manager at a new school. I've been a Senior ICT Technician ...
    Thank Post

I'm about to become a network manager - any tips?

Hi,

In 4 weeks time I'll become a network manager at a new school. I've been a Senior ICT Technician for over 4 years and deputised as network manager on quite a few occassions.

I'm just wondering if anyone has any tips for starting out as NM? Can anyone share their experiences of when they first stepped up to this position?

Ta very muchly

Alan.

Thank Post
    Do not go in trying to shake the place up right away. Get a feel for the place first, then slowly introduce new things.

3. Thanks to Pottsey from:

bandgeekmafia78 (7th July 2009)

Thank Post
    a) Realise how much crap your network manager has been shielding you from over the years
    b) Assuming they left on amicable terms, take the previous incumbent to the pub for the afternoon and quiz them (you're buying). The really useful stuff generally comes out around pint number 4
    c) Get to know someone in each department well enough to talk to over coffee. They're the person you use to get a feel for IT needs/wants/lingering problems in the dept that they may not otherwise mention (or mention too late).
    d) To cut down on your initial workload, champion peoples desired projects (provided they're sensible), but give them a series of things they need to do to get it moving. Rule of thumb is "I can tell SMT until I'm blue in the face that you would really like and benefit from $foo, but if they don't see and hear that from you as well, you won't get it."
    e) Agree "bandgeekmafia78's hiding somewhere" time where you're uncontactable (expect by the PFY for emergencies) with SMT. This is when you get big things done.
    f) Related to the above, find hiding places in friendly departments. Alternate frequently*.