+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
General Chat Thread, Shared ownership homes in General; Is there anyone out there who is currently in a shared ownership property? I'm basically looking at the "for" and ...

Thank Post
    Blog Entries

Shared ownership homes

Is there anyone out there who is currently in a shared ownership property?

I'm basically looking at the "for" and "against" of it. I'm new to all this mortgage lark and still trying to get my head round it, but S.O seems to good to be true.

Thanks

Thank Post
    I'm living in a shared ownership apartment.
    As i'm single and at the time could only get a mortgage 4x my salary it seemed sensible. Basically doing 50-50 so pay mortgage each month and rent each month. Must better than just renting as some of the apartment is mine. Just check on the conditions if you come to selling as you usually have to sell your half back to the housing assocation.

3. Thanks to karldenton from:

Little-Miss (24th April 2009)

Thank Post
    I'm looking into Shared Ownership at the mo, i think it is really good to get you on the property ladder! The only problem I'm finding is the choice of property, generally i find (in my area Windsor/Maidenhead) that they only build apartments/flats?! My partner has 2 young children so it is essential we have a 2 bed house with garden - these are extremely difficult to find... I still think the Pro's out way the Cons - better than throwing your money away renting. I'm just waiting for the right property to turn up...

5. Thanks to Mandy from:

Thank Post
    Good if you can't get a mortgage, but I find it hard to work out that the mortgage payments for say 50% and the rent is more than having a mortgage on your own!!

7. Thanks to sippo from:

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Mandy View Post
    ... better than throwing your money away renting. I'm just waiting for the right property to turn up...
    I love it when people say this! How is it throwing your money away?