at half term, I thought I would clear a fair bit of space off the server, so I deleted year 11 users and folders , sure enough reclaimed about 10 gigs.

it's all backed up on tape , so i can always restore any odd bits if really really necessary...

turns out the music tech group (about 15 kids) were still doing their coursework on the network , so first day back I got 'where's my music?' etc..

Hmph.

so I put it back on, reinstate the users with new passwords, and inform the music teacher - who then forgets to tell the class of course.

so about 10 of them start using the 'test' user I have for emergencies, and save their work there...

about half the school knows this logon I reckon.

so a boy comes to me today and says "I saved my work on 'test' in a folder and I put 'do not delete' on it and it's erm....gone......
- do you think someone's deleted it?

I look at him and think 'I wish I still had that much faith in humanity'.. ...

then I think 'maybe not'.