+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
General Chat Thread, Financial Management of ICT? in General; Does anyone here do their own Financial Management? I'm interested in the budgeting and accounting side of things. In particular, ...

Thank Post
    Blog Entries

Financial Management of ICT?

Does anyone here do their own Financial Management? I'm interested in the budgeting and accounting side of things. In particular, how much planning do you put into your budgeting? Do you do full Total Cost of Ownership and Cost/Benefit Analysis breakdowns for major projects for example? Do you reality check these predictions with real world usage in your subsequent accounting?

Yes, I've read the Financial Management Section of BECTAs FITS Guide:

http://www.becta.org.uk/tsas/docs/fits_financial.pdf

Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    Well this is my first year at it, but up to a point, yes I do the financial management.

I have created a basic 5-year plan that includes life-cycle upgrades for all equipment, consumable costs, some development work I know I want to do, migration to Win2k8/Win7, server virtualisation and SAN work, spare/repaires budget and Internet connection costs.

I also keep copies (excel spreadsheets) of all orders placed and running totals for the various budgets I have.

Come April and the new budget I'll get to see how well this all works and if my planning/record keeping needs refinement come next year.

We're a smallish school here so a lot of the TCO, assign jobs, etc that the FITS guide goes into is a bit overkill for us. All the roles mentioned in the FITS guide seem to boil down to being just me. I'm responsible for the IT budget, I'm responsible for the purchasing, the Tech's don't do any purchasing.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,773 Times in 1,100 Posts
    Blog Entries