+ Post New Thread
General Chat Thread, what do i do?? in General; i have been doing this job for about 2 years now in a special need school for only about 55 ...

Thank Post

what do i do??

i have been doing this job for about 2 years now in a special need school for only about 55 boys so a smallish network about 80 workstations.
    during the first year i was more or less left alone to do my job so knowing not alot about this field i feel i learned pretty quickly and most importantly really enjoyed it. For the last 6-9 mths things have changed alot here and i am more and more put in class to support lessons. I now get 5 tech sessions a week on a 35 session timetable to do my job which is nothing and its really p***ing me off as im not doing what i enjoy or what i need to learn lots more about.

So what do i do, there seems never to be any similar jobs down this way so apply for and im desparate to get out of this place so i kinda feel to take anything up until another techy job comes up??

Thank Post
    The waiting game is tough mate, especially at this 'economic time' (hate using that phrase). You've just got to hold out mate. Have you thought about speaking to your line manager to perhaps discuss the possibilities of having more time with the computers. Maybe pitching a project which would benefit the school.....providing you are given more time in the techie part ;-)
    Best of luck though mate and keep your chin up, I was in a similar situation a year ago, it is hard but something will come up!

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,310 Times in 1,624 Posts
    Firstly, I wouldn't leave unless you can find something you want - just leaving to do an unrelated job is never a good idea.
    Secondly, what were you employed as? Are you still doing your job? Can they put you in for that much classroom support and take you off the tech stuff?