+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
General Chat Thread, Room cooler anyone? in General; Hi folks. Congratulations for such a quality site. This is my first post here, and i want the advice of ...

Thank Post

Room cooler anyone?

Hi folks. Congratulations for such a quality site.

This is my first post here, and i want the advice of all the people like me that have to sit in a boiling hot cupboard (server room) all day.

Basically, myself and our network manager work in our school's server room, it has no windows, and is always boiling hot.

Finally it seems that our SMT have realised that it's not very wise keeping all of our servers at this temperature (plus the fact i have been bugging them for 6 months) So they have given the OK to get a room cooler. My question is, does anyone here use one in their school? I know there are plenty out there to purchase, but i always assumed that you need a window for the air to escape. But because our server room has no windows, that is not possible.

Can you get coolers that will cool down a room to a specific temperature, but does not need a window?

Any help or advice on this would be greatly appreciated.

chall
    Technician, RRS.

Thank Post

Re: Room cooler anyone?

Look in your yellow pages for local air conditioning fitters - who will provide a free, no obligation quote for your cupboard.

With air conditioning, you'll have to have an outlet drilled through the wall but that'll be covered by the installation.

As an example, our 9x3 cupboard with 7 HP Proliants (in varying forms) and switches aplenty, plus loads more junk [sorry, equipment] was assessed by a firm local to us, and they quoted £1600 all in.

Other than that, ask about the possibility of moving to another office, after much hassle (and the threat of pulling my union in as the server room broke about 6 health and saftey regulations for the workplace), suddenly we were found a new room... complete with window and away from the servers. Magic!