+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
General Chat Thread, Career Change in General; Hi Folks, I've become a bit fed up with the ICT game over the past few years, and can honestly ...

Thank Post

Career Change

Hi Folks,

I've become a bit fed up with the ICT game over the past few years, and can honestly say it's been about 3 years since I last enjoyed what I do for a living.

Like most of us I work long hours and spend endless amounts of my spare time studying new technologies and keeping up to speed, but at times it feels like it's a thankless and almost worthless task. Looking at current technology trends, I don't see much of a longer term future for in-house technical staff any longer and I think this adds to my disolutioned feelings about the job.

My current post does include a lot of project management and customer liason work on top of the usual tech stuff, so I have been able to build up skills in other areas. I'm wondering if anyone else has been down this route and what areas they identified as a possible career change path.

I know this may sound like I'm having a bad day, but the bad day has lasted for to long now and something needs to change!

Cheers,

K.

Thank Post
    Hey it could me writing something very similar! There are things here I enjoy but they are mostly the extra curricular things I do such as drama and outdoor activities.

I am currently looking at pastoral manager type posts as schools move these head of year type roles away from teachers - this seems to be happening in many schools. The only trouble is they are paid so badly. Then again there is more to life than money.

Thank Post
    I've been thinkng the same for the last eighteen months or so but not had the courage to think outside my "comfort zone".