+ Post New Thread
General Chat Thread, SQL Server Xpress 2008 in General; Not sure where (i.e. which forum) to start talking about this. I'm a complete beginner with SQL Server although I ...
    Thank Post

SQL Server Xpress 2008

Not sure where (i.e. which forum) to start talking about this. I'm a complete beginner with SQL Server although I have five years of MS Access behind me. Got as far as downloading SQL Server Xpress and vb.net, but not much further. Would welcome a link to a tutorial or something that will get me started, building a school database and front end. Any and all help appreciated.

Cheers
    Rob
    Last edited by RobKuwait; 2nd February 2009 at 09:01 AM.

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,699 Times in 2,288 Posts
    Blog Entries
    Take a look as SQL Managment Studio Express as this will let you interface with your 2008 server:
    This video set should be really helpful:
    SQL Server Videos : The Official Microsoft ASP.NET Site

This video is good:
    ASP.Net: Using SQL Server Management Studio :: Tech Videos, Screencasts, Webinars, Techtalks, Tutorials

These may help
    SQL Server Management Studio Express tutorial - ASP.NET Forums
    Contact Manager - Creating the SQL Database - Tutorial Centre

These vids are good from the software side:
    Videos : The Official Microsoft ASP.NET Site

And as a starter you could simply use Access itself to build the databases by connecting a new Access ADP project to your SQL server.

Thank Post
    I'm doing something wrong...

I've managed to create a simple database using SQL Server Management Studio (Express). I can create tables and populate them using SQL Server Management Studio. Now I want to start working with my db using VB.NET Express. Problem is, whenever I try to create a new project in VB, I can't connect to my database. I open the Data Sources box, navigate to the .mdf file, and that's as far as I get. Can't see where I'm going wrong.

Thank Post