+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 13 of 13
General Chat Thread, Adverts on Edugeek site in General; Anbody else had the advert like on this screenshot? (Right hand side) Noticed some threads from last year about this, ...
  1. #1
    Quackers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Staffordshire
    Posts
    1,089
    Thank Post
    32
    Thanked 85 Times in 73 Posts
    Rep Power
    41

    Adverts on Edugeek site

    Anbody else had the advert like on this screenshot? (Right hand side)

    Noticed some threads from last year about this, but looks like its back again, just hope the filters would grab it if i was in school, would not look good on a projector.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. IDG Tech News
  3. #2
    PEO
    PEO is offline
    PEO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    2,084
    Thank Post
    437
    Thanked 148 Times in 93 Posts
    Rep Power
    68
    Nice!! thats something not to be seen on your screen at work!

  4. #3

    vikpaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
    Posts
    5,246
    Thank Post
    483
    Thanked 1,064 Times in 897 Posts
    Rep Power
    288
    count yourselves lucky, here in saudi i keep getting this dating site advert with a picture of a ninja woman (nothing but eyes).

  5. #4

    EduTech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Birmingham
    Posts
    4,889
    Blog Entries
    3
    Thank Post
    157
    Thanked 839 Times in 659 Posts
    Rep Power
    208
    wondered why NETSWEEPER was showing on the right hand side at work sometimes

  6. #5

    webman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    8,333
    Blog Entries
    2
    Thank Post
    604
    Thanked 900 Times in 630 Posts
    Rep Power
    296
    Heh. Perhaps this a manifestation of ZeroHour and Bossman's potential future ventures...

  7. Thanks to webman from:

    john (22nd January 2009)

  8. #6

    john's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    9,997
    Thank Post
    1,278
    Thanked 892 Times in 777 Posts
    Rep Power
    249
    Quote Originally Posted by webman View Post
    Heh. Perhaps this a manifestation of ZeroHour and Bossman's potential future ventures...
    hehe, will it be called Adult-Edu or something more alluring

  9. #7

    elsiegee40's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    8,609
    Thank Post
    1,443
    Thanked 1,622 Times in 1,195 Posts
    Rep Power
    529
    I'm getting the "The webpage cannot be found" in that space at the moment

  10. #8
    dalsoth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Cambridgeshire
    Posts
    546
    Thank Post
    190
    Thanked 108 Times in 80 Posts
    Rep Power
    41
    Maybe Eduperv's or EduPeek

  11. #9

    localzuk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Minehead
    Posts
    15,297
    Blog Entries
    24
    Thank Post
    490
    Thanked 1,947 Times in 1,524 Posts
    Rep Power
    660
    As was the case with my machine where I tested it, have you ran a spyware scan lately? It could be something hijacking the ads...

  12. #10
    contink's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    South Yorkshire
    Posts
    3,835
    Thank Post
    298
    Thanked 326 Times in 232 Posts
    Rep Power
    115
    I'd be checking to make sure you don't have a virus or adware, etc lurking on your machine...

  13. #11
    Quackers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Staffordshire
    Posts
    1,089
    Thank Post
    32
    Thanked 85 Times in 73 Posts
    Rep Power
    41
    I had 1 more adult advert after that one appear and its been normal adverts ever since, such as ebay or a powertool. The adult one said the link was from doubleclick.net i presume it was legit and somthing not attaching its self to adverts on my machine.

    Ad-Aware found nothing.

  14. #12


    tom_newton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    4,141
    Thank Post
    793
    Thanked 747 Times in 583 Posts
    Rep Power
    176
    Where is it coming from? I have noticed adbrite serving up a few risque ads recently, all I can recommend to our customers is either block ads (not so hot for edugeekers who need the support) or just blacklist adbrite for being inconsiderate.

  15. #13
    ChrisH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Lancs
    Posts
    4,963
    Thank Post
    100
    Thanked 243 Times in 222 Posts
    Rep Power
    98
    The last time someone was getting ads like that, it was their machine had an adware infection. I doubt that kind of stuff is in IDGs catalogue.

SHARE:
+ Post New Thread

Similar Threads

  1. New Site Feature: EduGeek.net Chat! It lives!
    By ZeroHour in forum General EduGeek News/Announcements
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 11th March 2008, 10:34 AM
  2. New Site Feature: EduGeek User Maps
    By ZeroHour in forum General EduGeek News/Announcements
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 26th February 2008, 04:08 PM
  3. Site based on the edugeek template
    By plexer in forum EduGeek Joomla 1.0 Package
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 5th December 2007, 12:58 PM
  4. Another Site based on the edugeek template
    By linkazoid in forum Web Development
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 26th November 2007, 11:18 PM

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •