+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
General Chat Thread, Consultancy - Appropriate Fee? in General; I have been in charge of IT support at my current workplace for four year. I am leaving at the ...

Thank Post

Consultancy - Appropriate Fee?

I have been in charge of IT support at my current workplace for four year. I am leaving at the end of November and unfortunately the school have not been very effective in finding my replacement, or even sending out Job Descriptions and application packs.

Therefore it is looking highly unlikely that the new person will start before I leave, which means no chance for a handover.

The principal has approached me and asked if I would be willing to do evening handovers once I have left and once the new person starts. Obviously at a fee.
    I have never done consultancy work before so I am not sure what would be a good fee to set, bearing in mind that if I don’t do it, their only choice would be to call in an external company who would charge an excessive amount of money and would most likely need to get to grips with the system first, before doing a handover to a new person.

From looking around, it seems that most people would charge about three times their hourly rate of what they get paid as an employee, which would work out at about £54 an hour for me. Does this seem a bit much?

Any advice appreciated

Léonie

Thank Post
    its out of hours, on top of what you'll be doing during the day.

external contractors would be about £750 a day, so £54 an hour seems on the cheap side.

Thank Post
    When first reading the post 50 quid an hour sprang to mind and they will be having it done on the cheap.

Thank Post
    Think of a number then double it