+ Post New Thread
General Chat Thread, Lease or buy? in General; Iíve been asked to look into the possibility of leasing a suite of machine instead of buying them outright. All ...
    Thank Post

Lease or buy?

Iíve been asked to look into the possibility of leasing a suite of machine instead of buying them outright. All the schools Iíve worked at have always bought their machines so I have no experience in this matter at all.

What are your views?

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Jobos View Post
    Iíve been asked to look into the possibility of leasing a suite of machine instead of buying them outright. All the schools Iíve worked at have always bought their machines so I have no experience in this matter at all.

What are your views?
    Last time my school leased some gear we had an awful job when the lease ran out as the machines were well out of date. Now my boss wouldn't touch a lease with a barge pole. Plus the LEA has a policy on leasing, any paperwork has to be passed by their legal department, and any service level agreement excludes any leased kit.

Thank Post
    We aren't allowed in derbyshire but our new head who is from lancs seemed to have very positive feedback. Just make sure that the leasing includes new stations every so many years.

Thank Post
    We have leased lots of kit without any problem. We didn't have to involve the LEA at all when we did it. At the end of the lease we just hand the kit back or buy it for a peppercorn price. We are keeping the old kit and thin clienting it now.

We took the lease 'cos it meant we could spend lots of cash in one go and get a large amount of kit. The downside is that means it is all old and potentially obselete at the same time.

Thank Post
    Our LEA recommends leasing as "its the best way to keep up with technology", which is fine if you say i need x number of computers, the money will always be there regardless of if the budget is tight, and you will never want any more PCs.