+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
General Chat Thread, Snowboarding - Advice needed! in General; I've been learning to snowboard for the last 3 months now and was contemplating buying my own kit as so ...
    Thank Post

Snowboarding - Advice needed!

I've been learning to snowboard for the last 3 months now and was contemplating buying my own kit as so far I've just been renting at the dry ski slope I've been learning at. Couple of quick questions :-

1) Whereabouts is the best place to buy kit from. Should I buy it online (which will presumably be cheaper) or should I take the time to go to a shop which will give me a chance to try on the kit/etc? Hopefully now should be a good time as it's near the end of season!

2) To get started I'm going to need to buy a snowboard, bindings, boots and a helmet. A pair of more substantial gloves probably wouldn't go amiss either as I've shredded through my current pair after falling so much and holding onto the rope tow! What kind of board/etc would people recommend for a beginner? I've had a look there are loads of different brands at a variety of prices but TBH most of it looks pretty similar to me!

3) Are there any good snowboarding forums out there that would be worth checking out for additional info?

Any recommendations or suggestions for the questions above would be appreciated!

TIA

PEO
    Thank Post
    Wish my gf was here now she could answer your 2nd question. When i see her (sat) I will ask her to pm you mate with some advice. she's snow boarded in bulgaria and new zeland for a good year.

Thank Post
    Snowboard Club UK :: The Riders' Network has a good forum with loads of advice.

Thank Post
    Cheers for the info everyone :-)

Thank Post
    I ski rather than board but in general I'd say:-