+ Post New Thread
General Chat Thread, Technical support in a small school in General; Hi everyone, What you consider to be a sensible level of technical support in a small school? I ask this ...
    Thank Post

Technical support in a small school

Hi everyone,

What you consider to be a sensible level of technical support in a small school?

I ask this as I work part-time as an ICT teacher in a small independent school and I am helping the current technician put together a report for the bursar.

We have had quite a few niggling issues with the network. The current technician has inherited an RM system which he hates and wants to change the system to a pure windows server solution or even a linux server solution.

The school previously had 2 years relatively problem-free use of an RM system. The technician who implemented and managed it moved on to a better paid job last summer.

The school now has a new technician who is fresh out of uni. He is still finding his feet, but I am sure he will get there in the end. Essentially he is required to do everything from being the budget holder to managing the entire school and office system (in all but name - a network manager)

We are starting to look at alternative companies that provide training, off-site and some on-site support as part of their support contract, but I doubt that is enough in itself. In my mind he could still do with a part-time assistant to help him, as teacher-related problems still take up a vast amount of his time.

The school has 130 computers, 450 end users, 20 interactive whiteboards

Any advice or experiences gratefully received.

Thank Post
    "The school has 130 computers, 450 end users, 20 interactive whiteboards"
    1 full time without a doubt perhaps a 2nd either part time or full time is better then for the odd weeks when there’s not enough to do stick the 2nd tech in classrooms as IT support and/or as teacher training on software.