+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
General Chat Thread, Job titles... in General; Wierd question.. I'm currently an ICT Technician and in April will reach the top of my scale. I'm trying to ...

Thank Post
    Blog Entries

Smile Job titles...

Wierd question..

I'm currently an ICT Technician and in April will reach the top of my scale.

I'm trying to think of new responsibilities for myself to be able to move up onto a new scale. Any ideas?

Also, what job titles do you have or can you have in a school? I've heard of Network manager, ICT manager, ICT Technician what else can you be?

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,692 Times in 1,471 Posts
    Blog Entries
    Well what jobs do you currently do?

Thank Post
    I'm titled ICT Services Manager which I think is a made up title to merge IT Manager, & Network Manager.

Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    General hardware maintenance
    Website
    AV setup and maintenance
    Help staff/pupils

Usual Technician stuff i think...

My really interest is hardware, was considering asking for more responsibility with the hardware.

Thank Post
    Depending on the amount of kit available it may not be feasible, but I divide responsibilities up (roughly) between my team whereby one of them has specific responsibility for the Workstations across the whole site; from their working order, to their cleaning/servicing and damage logging. - We then take this into account with other jobs so as to not put too much load on a single person!

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,692 Times in 1,471 Posts
    Blog Entries
    I do most stuff including. The only thing I don’t do is setup the online exams. This is an idea of what I do:
    General Server stuff event logs etc
    Backups
    Webfiltering
    WSUS
    Website
    Support students

Take a look at this Wiki page for ideas Maintainece Schedule - EduGeek.net Wiki

Thank Post
    Blog Entries