+ Post New Thread
General Chat Thread, Certifications. I've passed a few, but what would you aim for next? in General; Hi all I made a new years resolution to pass some technical exams this year. I've got a lot of ...

Thank Post

Certifications. I've passed a few, but what would you aim for next?

Hi all

I made a new years resolution to pass some technical exams this year. I've got a lot of experience/time-served in IT Support/Management in schools...but never really had any qualifications other than my degree.

Since January 1st I've passed both the A+ exams, Network+ and Security+

My main reasons for wanting technical certs is to:

1. Have an achievement every once in a while (an exam pass)
    2. To have a goal to work towards
    3. To learn new stuff
    4. To make myself as attractive as possible to employers when the managed service i'm working in eventually ends (yep, BSF), as i'd like to be a regular Network Manager again.

My question is where to go next with my certs? The A+ exam wasn't a challenge due to my existing experience (i only really decided to sit these exams because there's a possibility that i might be in a position where i can teach the course at a local adult education centre), but i really enjoyed learning the theory of Network+ and Security+.

I'm wondering if i should go down the Microsoft, Cisco, VMware, ITL or Prince2 route now.

My experience of Windows Server, AD, DNS, DHCP etc is quite good, however, i've been stuck in CC4 land for a few years now.

My ultimate goal is to again be an IT/Network Manager running my own team (i did this for 4 years prior to BSF), so what certs do you recommend next?

Thank Post
    Itil doesn't carry much weight in secondary/college edu, but does seem to be becoming a standard requirement in "real world" / uni tech jobs I'm seeing, along with prince 2 etc but these are not really technical, I don't think some of the CompTIA stuff is really "technical" either, more "technical theory"...?