+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
General Chat Thread, Car Problem ? Maybe ? in General; Hi all, Ive noticed a problem that has seemed to crop up in the last few days.... Ive got a ...
    Thank Post

Car Problem ? Maybe ?

Hi all,

Ive noticed a problem that has seemed to crop up in the last few days.... Ive got a 1.6 Zetec SE.

Sometimes changing from 2nd to 3rd, if the revs are a tad low (30 mph say).. The car judders and changing down and accelerating works then change back to 3rd which is fine. I'm a new driver so is this my error or is something wrong with the car ?, does it sometimes if i'm in a 40, and I change from 3rd to 4th and the revs are a bit low or im creeping my speed up if I'm accelerating it 'Judders' until I change down, Changing down to 3rd or 2nd is fine I can accelerate again.

Sometimes slowing from 60, changing down to 4th.. if I have to accelerate again it judders slightly - changing down to third I can take off no problem.

ALSO, i've noticed any rapid acceleration or revving of the engine there's a slight 'Hiss' from the engine for a second or 2 as the revs climb... is this normal for a Zetec ?

Thanks in Advance.

Thank Post
    Noticed you posted this on the fordownersclub.com too - was going to point you there!

3. Thanks to visioN from:

cpjitservices (7th July 2014)

Thank Post
    I have this juddering on my polo and turned out i was missing a cylinder as one of my HT leads burnt out. So could be worth popping in the garage to have a quick once over. Mine was fixed in the day a swap of HT leads and new sparks and ready to go

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,455 Times in 1,716 Posts
    Don't know about the hiss but the juddering is usually because you are going too slowly for that gear, surely?

Thank Post
    Checked HT and Sparks... Im running 4 cylinders.. the car runs fine its just accelerating sometimes at low speed / revs.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,572 Times in 1,252 Posts