+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
General Chat Thread, Budget...how do I do it? in General; I've recently started my job as Network Administrator at a small college, and my boss (the CIO) wants a budget, ...
    Thank Post

Budget...how do I do it?

I've recently started my job as Network Administrator at a small college, and my boss (the CIO) wants a budget, or maybe just budget input so he can do the budget right. I have no clue how to do a budget. Most stuff seems to be functioning fine here, and the rest just looks like work I need to do to myself. However, I suspect that if I don't ask for much this year, I'll be required to work with even less next year. Isn't that how budgets work?

Where can I read about budgeting for a small college IT department?

What kind of things should I worry about having to spend money on? I've never worked in academia before, and never been in such a high-ranking position...

It just occured to me that I should look at past budget info from my predecessor.

Thank Post

Re: Budget...how do I do it?

it just really depends on what you are going to be managing on a daily basis.

If you are looking after computers, you should put in place a hardware maintainance budget so if you need to replace items, you have the money for it...

If you are doing printers, the cost of consumables needs to be accounted for, ink, drum, toners etc etc.

Development budge for any software that you might want to buy to improve the network.

Network hardware, like switches if you are planning on upgrading your core network.

but i would def ask for some money, even if in the end you dont need to spend it, you could just get something else from it.

HTH

N

Thank Post

If you're using MS products there's the annual cost of the licensing.
    What is the age of the machines and how often do you replace them?